El Dorado News

June 25, 2018
El Dorado News Times

Little love for Hogs on preseason All-SEC teams

This article was published July 15, 2017 at 5:00 a.m.

By Nate Allen

Special to the News-Times

FAYETTEVILLE - Other than first-team voted senior center Frank Ragnow and third-team voted senior quarterback Austin Allen and one voter for the team finish projections, the Arkansas Razorbacks got little love from those voting on the All-SEC Preseason teams and projections of SEC division finishes for the upcoming 2017 football season.

Voting results were announced Friday after the four-day SEC media days concluded Thursday in Hoover, Ala.

Of the 243 first-place SEC West votes cast, Arkansas got one and overall was voted fourth with 796 voting points behind reigning SEC overall champion/national runner-up Alabama (225 first-place votes, 1,683 voting points), Auburn (13 first-place votes, 1,329 points) and LSU (four first-place points, 1,262 points).

Projected fifth through seventh in he SEC West without first-place votes were Texas A&M (722), Mississippi State (633) and Ole Miss (379).

In the SEC East, Georgia was voted Preseason No. 1 with 1,572 points, including 138 first-place votes.

Defending SEC East champion Florida (96 first-place votes and 1,526 points) was voted second. Tennessee (three first-place votes, 998 points) was voted third.

Though receiving more first-place votes than Tennessee, South Carolina was fourth with 897 points.

Receiving first-place votes while picked fifth through seventh were Kentucky (869), Vanderbilt (554) and Missouri (388).

Alabama, with a SEC media days record 10 Preseason All-SEC first-teamers was the overwhelming favorite to repeat as the SEC Championship game winner.

Alabama outpolled Auburn 217-11 with Georgia third on SEC Overall champion projections.

Ragnow, already on the Rimington Trophy and Outland Trophy Preseason watch lists, outpolled All-SEC Preseason second-team center Bradley Bozeman of Alabama 174-155 for the first-time spot.

Allen, last year’s SEC passing leader, amassed 102 points for All-SEC third-team quarterback behind Alabama’s Jalen Hurts (196) and Mississippi State’s Nick Fitzgerald (121).

Alabama defensive back Minkah Fitzpatrick (232) and Alabama receiver Calvin Ridley (232) led the SEC individual voting, but none matched the 2007 feat of former Arkansas running back Darren McFadden as a unanimous first-team selection.

comments powered by Disqus