68 grads named Arkansas Scholars

68 EHS seniors were named Arkansas Scholars this year. (Contributed)
68 EHS seniors were named Arkansas Scholars this year. (Contributed)

Special to the News-Times

Sixty-eight Arkansas Scholars who graduated with the El Dorado High School Class of 2023 were recently recognized for their achievement during Honors Day at EHS.

Each of the 68 Arkansas Scholars received a certificate of achievement for meeting the designated criteria, and wore red honor cords during their graduation ceremony.

For EHS, the Arkansas Scholars program is sponsored by the El Dorado-Union County Chamber of Commerce, the Union County Community Foundation and the El Dorado Education Foundation.

The program was established to encourage and reward academic achievement among the state's high schools. The local Arkansas Scholars committee works with the El Dorado School District and EHS to help implement program goals and objectives.

In order to be designated an Arkansas Scholar; a student must meet four criteria in grades 9-12: semester grades no lower than a C; attendance of 95% or better; three years of science and social sciences courses, with four years of English and math; and completion of high school in eight consecutive semesters.

For EHS, the Arkansas Scholars Class of 2023 includes:

- Mir Ali

- Nahomy Arellano Villegas

- Kevin Beeman

- Kasynn Bledsoe

- Deandre Bluford

- Marleigh Bonsall

- Patricia Burris

- Caroline Byrd

- Ava Clark

- Nathan Clark

- Catelynn Connor

- Caden Cranford

- Connor Cranford

- Avrey Davison

- Justin Dumas

- Jon Brooks Elia

- John Dagon Ewing

- Miah Foster

- Delia Gonzalez

- Jalyn Green

- Jayla Green

- Noah Haney

- Miriam Hatley

- John Hollis

- Wenhua Huang

- Julia Jackson

- Makyah Jackson

- Amy Jacobs

- Dakoda Jones

- Cameran Kelley-Gadberry

- Addison Lange

- Mitchell Luther

- Braden Major

- Maggie McDaniel

- Caroline Meadows

- Millee Pate Mobley

- Timothy Murphy

- Lauren Nelson

- Madeline Nolan

- Hunter Nutt

- Kieran Obiozo

- Lorelai Orr

- Hannah Passmore

- Daniela Perez

- Sha'Darious Plummer

- Logan Powell

- Kendall Ricker

- Laticia Rivas

- Lynley Rushing

- Clayton Sewell

- Levi Shaffer

- Wyatt Shankle

- Keyanna Shelton

- Mary Katherine Shepherd

- Haley Simpson

- Lynley Smith

- Shanaya Smith

- Summer Smith

- John Rhodes Stipp-Bethune

- Daisisabell Tabe

- Gabrielle Terry

- Lily Thomas

- Tristen Thompson

- Brianna Toland

- Lillian Trujillo

- Kimberly Wallace

- Hope Walthall

- Jadon Webb

Upcoming Events