Poultry operators in Union County are reminded to register their operations in accordance with state law. Registration for 2019 ends March 31.
Any poultry feeding operations where 2,500 or more poultry are housed or confined on any given day are required to register annually through the Union County Conservation District. The Arkansas Natural Resources Commission administers the registration program to allow for information collection on the number and type of poultry and practices of poultry feeding operations in the state. The program is designed to preserve Arkansas’ economy and water quality through registration, training and research.
There is a $10 registration fee per operation payable to the local conservation district.
Failure to register can result in a written notice of noncompliance for the first offense, a fine of up to $50 for the second offense and a fine of up to $500 for the third offense.