Republican Carter wins House Speaker slot

It’s a first since Reconstruction.

Along with a new Republican majority in the Arkansas House of Representatives, the membership elected Davy Carter (R-Cabot) as its next speaker, according to Arkansas News.

Democrat Darrin Williams lost out early on his bid for Speaker followed shortly by Terry Rice (R-Waldron) who lost in a 52-45 vote.

Out of the 51 Republican, 48 Democrat and one Green House representation, Carter needed 48 votes to confirm his appointment and 49 to vote against.

About Admin

This blog is brought to you by the El Dorado News-Times, the Voice of South Arkansas.
This entry was posted in By Allison Gatlin, News, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>